The Darren Criss Experience

So last night I got to see Darren Criss in his final performance on his first nationwide tour. It was so surreal and so much better than I could have ever expected.

I got to The Fillmore at 11:15am to snag a spot in line. Thankfully, I was lucky enough to get a VIP ticket, which includes a meet-and-greet/photo, so I got to skip the long general admission line. I was the fifth person in line for VIP, so I was really damn excited because it was my goal to be able to get a close spot to the stage for the concert. I knew people that were going to the concert, but they had GA tickets, so I wasn’t able to stand in line with them. The fact that I was going by myself made me nervous because that meant I had to spend all day just by myself. Or so I thought. Over the course of the day (I was there from 11:15am to 2:00am the next day), I met so many fantastic people. I made friends with three other girls in particular: Kristina, Katy, and Celine. We all stuck together throughout the afternoon and up until we met Darren, and Kristina even made me a bracelet while we waited in line. We got a little separated at the concert, but I still stuck with Kristina and another friend who had Deluxe VIP, Emily. And even after the concert, I saw all of them and then met Darren again with Kristina. Honestly, all of these girls were the reason my day was infinitely better. Yes, meeting Darren twice and getting to see him perform was absolutely amazing, but if I didn’t have anyone else to experience it with, it just would not have been as good. I am so so glad I met these girls and it still makes me tear up to know that complete strangers can bond over our love for Darren.

Now, meeting Darren went differently than I had anticipated. I had planned out what I wanted to say to him and how I wanted to pose for our picture. Well, that all went out the door as soon I heard his voice. We were waiting in line and all of a sudden, I look over and he’s just casually strolling by us and talking to someone. No one seemed to notice so I went “Guys…that’s Darren…” and then some people started to freak out a bit. But as he walked by, I heard him talking and oh my word his voice is like smooth caramel. It is so seductive and entirely unfair. So when it was my turn to meet him, a rep asked me my name and she introduced me to him. It was when he actually said my name that I blanked on everything. I went in for the hug, which lasted awhile and was in the top five of Best Hugs I’ve Ever Received. He is honestly such a good hugger and that by itself kind of made the experience worth it. He told me thanks for coming and then just kind of turned me to take a picture. I was so dumbstruck that I didn’t have a chance to tell him I wanted to pose. After the picture, i don’t even remember what I did, but I know I didn’t say anything I wanted to. I can’t even remember if I said thank you because all I remember is getting my bag and walking out. If there’s something that really bothers me about my meet-and-greet is that I didn’t even say thank you to him. I feel like such an asshole for not saying it, so I just really hope I did. I was also disappointed that I didn’t get to tell him that I love that he, like myself, wears bright socks. I was just disappointed in myself for not doing the things I planned, but I’m trying to look on the bright side. I met Darren freaking Criss.

Darren’s concert was amazing, as expected. I enjoyed his two opening acts more than I thought I would, too. I got lucky enough to be in the second row right behind some of my new friends, so I was able to have a really good view the whole concert. The amount of emotion that Darren puts into his songs, and performing in general, is astounding. He leaves his heart on the stage and he is such a good singer. There were no special guests, which I was hoping for seeing as it was his last concert of the tour, but that didn’t break my heart or anything. After the show, Kristina and I waited out back for him for about 3 hours. Although I was tired, hungry, and dehydrated, it was worth it. He remembered meeting me earlier, we took another picture, and he signed both my VIP poster and my phone case. He really is such a sweetheart and I just can’t get over that.

The weather may have been crazy, the merch line may have taken me an hour and a half to get through, and I may have regrets about my meet-and-greet with Darren, but getting to meet so many wonderful people and spend the day with them overshadows everything else.

Me, Celine (who is from France!), Katy, and Kristina. This is right before Darren walked by our VIP line.

Me, Celine (who is from France!), Katy, and Kristina. This is right before Darren walked by our VIP line.

Leave a Reply

