Still confused

So I still have no clue what I want to do with my life. I know I don’t want to work in a lab forever, but I’m not sure if I really want to teach either. Honestly, I don’t know if getting a PhD is worth it. I know it opens up a lot more opportunities if I do, but grad school is hard work and not knowing if I even need it makes me not want to go. I have a friend in grad school for chemistry currently. She’s very smart (she goes to Berkeley, for God’s sake…) and even she has doubts about it. Like I mentioned before, it’s a big commitment and that scares me.

I’ve thought about going to grad school for something else (like anthropology), but if I’m being perfectly honest, I feel like having an undergrad in a life/natural science and then going to grad school for something else looks like I’m copping out. Other grad degrees just don’t seem as impressive. Like, not that they aren’t good for other people, but I feel like I’d be dumbing down if I didn’t go for a life/natural science grad degree. It’s all a personal outlook on myself and my choices. It’s not a good outlook, I know, but I’m not sure I can help it. But I know I don’t want to be behind a bench forever, so my outlook may just have to change.

 

Leave a Reply

