They tell me I’m too young to understand, They say I’m caught up in a dream

This song, “Wake Me Up” by Avicii, is my new obsession. First of all, it has been described as David Guetta meets Mumford and Sons. I fucking love those two artists and, together, they’re amazing. So hence one reason why I love this song. But the biggest reason I love this song so much is that it so accurately describes my life right now.

This song, and the accompanying video, describes someone who is young and lost in life. Someone who knows they aren’t where they belong, but is also not quite sure where they do belong. Someone who doesn’t want to listen to everyone saying they’re too young to understand life, yet is scared of not knowing what’s going to happen. This song is about living life while you’re young and gambling on the future. THIS SONG IS ME.

I’m young, fresh out of college, and completely lost. And, honestly, I don’t know how I became so lost. It’s like it sprang up on me one day and I had a really big “OH SHIT” moment. I was finding myself in college, but I had no fucking clue I was really so goddamn lost. I have no clue what I’m doing or where I belong, but I do know that I don’t belong back at home. I will always love home, but I need to move on. It’s something that I feel deep in my core and it’s driving me absolutely insane that I can’t afford to move. As of right now, I dream of going to grad school in LA just because it is so far from home, a completely different atmosphere, and filled with hopeful dreamers. I hate when people tell me that “oh, it’s expensive to live in California!” Well, no shit Sherlock. But do you know how many people live there on less than I would be if I got into grad school? Grad schools adjust their stipend based on the cost of living. So obviously I would make more than living somewhere else. Like, stop telling me that shit. Grad school is not a glamorous life, I am well aware. But life is not always glamorous. I do appreciate advice from those who have life experience, but you know what? I need to gain some life experience of my own and the only way to do that is to figure it out on my own. You learn from mistakes, okay? LET ME MAKE THEM. And yes, I am scared of what will happen. I have no fucking clue how my life will turn out. I have nothing planned. But it’s a risk I want to take. Let me gamble on the future. What’s life without a little risk? I’m young. I wish I could stay forever young, but with the the wisdom of someone older, like the lyrics imply. But that’s not how life works. So let me live up my life while I’m young. I’ll gain the wisdom in time. But for right now? I want to explore, dream, and discover.

Lyrics to “Wake Me Up”:

Feeling my way through the darkness
Guided by a beating heart
I can’t tell where the journey will end
But I know where to start
They tell me I’m too young to understand
They say I’m caught up in a dream
Life will pass me by if I don’t open up my eyes
Well that’s fine by me

So wake me up when it’s all over
When I’m wiser and I’m older
All this time I was finding myself
And I didn’t know I was lost
[x2]

I tried carrying the weight of the world
But I only have two hands
I hope I get the chance to travel the world
But I don’t have any plans
Wish that I could stay forever this young
Not afraid to close my eyes
Life’s a game made for everyone
And love is the prize

So wake me up when it’s all over
When I’m wiser and I’m older
All this time I was finding myself
And I didn’t know I was lost
[x2]

I didn’t know I was lost
I didn’t know I was lost
I didn’t know I was lost
I didn’t know I was lost

Leave a Reply

