2013: A Year in Review

2013 was a hell of a roller coaster ride, simply put. There were definitely some disappointments, but in the spirit of starting a new year with a positive outlook, I’m just going to recount why 2013 was one of the best years thus far:

 

Travels

While I didn’t travel overseas this year, I traveled quite a bit within the US. On top of the expected travels to the ocean and to Pittsburgh/Philadelphia to visit friends, I got to travel a bit farther and wider. I In May, I got the chance to finally see more of Colorado than the airport, as well as visit New Mexico for a few hours. In July, I finally got to visit Chicago with friends to see Starkid (I’ll revisit that later), and in September, I went to Vegas (!!!) with practically my whole family for my cousin’s 21st birthday. Traveling is something I’m really passionate about, so while I didn’t surpass the epic traveling of summer 2012, I still think I did well 😉

 

People

I met SO MANY amazing people this year. SO. MANY. First and foremost, I was lucky enough to meet one of my idols, Darren Criss. I love everything about this man and getting to meet him and then watch him do what I think he does best, play music, and then meet him AGAIN was absolutely a dream come true. I never thought he’d travel my way; I always figured I’d have to meet him by sheer luck in California somewhere. Fortunately, he came to me 🙂

Not two weeks after meeting Darren, I got to see the Starkids perform their new musical, Twisted. It was hilarious and clever and did I mention hilarious? I got to meet most of them, and the ones I didn’t get to meet then, I had already met in April when Jim and the Povolos came to Pittsburgh (another stroke of sheer luck…). It was really exciting to be able to meet people in real life that you had previously only seen on YouTube. They’re all super nice and very huggable.

Only a few weeks after meeting them, I got to meet Chris Colfer. Unlike Darren and the Starkids, I barely got to see him or have contact with him. I traveled for 6 hours to meet the man for about 1 minute, but it was worth it because I got to not only see him up close and personal, but I got to break the news to him that Peter Capaldi was the chosen to be the 12th Doctor on Doctor Who, a show of which he and I are both fans. That was a big moment for me 😀

Although the people I just mentioned are all at least somewhat famous, I met so many non-famous people (like me!) that make my life just a little bit better every day. So here’s a shout-out to:

Kristina and Celine, two ladies that I met while waiting in line for Darren’s concert. Kristina, getting to know you (and Anna!) has been amazing and so much fun. I hope it all continues in the year to come. Celine, while we don’t really talk much, I enjoy mutually following each other on Tumblr and fangirling over the same things 🙂

Everyone at Old Navy and Wilsons Leather. You all are my first true “work friends” and my days go by just a bit quicker because of you all. We laugh, joke, and commiserate together. We all know that misery loves company and that working in retail is not glamorous whatsoever, but we manage to get by because we must. I couldn’t ask for a better group of coworkers. And thanks for making my Black Friday bearable.

Lastly, I have to mention all of the people that I’ve left this year because of graduation. I don’t know when I’ll next see you, but life is certainly not that same without our constant interaction. By this point, I know who I want to stay in touch with, but even if we lose touch, you all have made my college years truly spectacular. Thank you.

 

Events

I’ve already mentioned seeing Darren Criss in concert and seeing Starkid’s new musical, but other important events happened this year, too. The Ravens won the Superbowl, which was certainly unexpected but I am not complaining haha. Being in Pittsburgh when they won was so satisfying, but there was also no other place I wanted to be than at home, in Baltimore. Seeing all of the love and dedication of the fans makes me proud to be a Ravens fan. Also, this year, I FINALLY GRADUATED!!! Four years of stress and smelling like chemicals and latex gloves finally paid off. While I don’t have a job in my field and have loans to pay off, I would never trade my experience for anything else. The week leading up to graduation, as well as my birthday party, was spent with so many friends and love and laughter. The memories made far outweigh anything else. And speaking of memories, my best friend got married this year!! Woop woop! The first of my friends to get married. God I feel old…

 

To wrap up this little review, I wanna say that while all of these things were UH-MAY-ZING, I also truly cherish the times where I just got to hang out with my friends, whether it was at a Pens/Caps game, down in Fells Point of Federal Hill, or just at a Starbucks for four hours, those times are what really make a year feel complete. During this whole year, I’ve kept a list on my phone of great times that I’ve had this year. As I look back on it today, I just can’t seem to wipe the grin off of my face. Through the ups and downs of this year, it’s the ups that made it into my phone to stay. Bad times may linger, but good times overpower it in the end. It’s been a wild year for me and I hope 2014 is better for everyone 🙂

 

One thought on “2013: A Year in Review

Leave a Reply

